#### **MINUTES**

# North Dakota State Water Commission Special Meeting Bismarck, North Dakota May 28, 2025

The ND State Water Commission (Commission or SWC) held a special meeting at the Bank of North Dakota, 1200 Memorial Highway, Bismarck, ND, and via phone conference on May 28, 2025. Lt. Governor Strinden called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM. A quorum was present. The board opened the meeting by reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

# **State Water Commission Members Present:**

Lt. Governor Strinden, Acting Chairman
Doug Goehring, Commissioner, ND Agriculture Commissioner
Michael Anderson, Lower Red River Basin (online)
Jeff Frith, Devils Lake Basin (online)
James Odermann, Little Missouri, Upper Heart, and Upper Cannonball River Basins
Connie Ova, James River Basin (online)
Jay Volk, Lower Missouri River Basin
April Walker, Upper Red River Basin (online)
Jason Zimmerman, Mouse River Basin

# **State Water Commission Members Absent:**

Gene Veeder, Upper Missouri River Basin

#### Others Present:

Reice Haase, Director, ND Dept. of Water Resources (DWR or Department) and Commission Secretary
John Paczkowski, DWR State Engineer
DWR Staff
Approximately 10 people present online and in person.

# **Consideration of Agenda**

Commissioner Zimmerman moved to approve the May 28, 2025, special meeting agenda as presented. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Volk and passed by unanimous vote.

# **Executive Session**

# Under Authority of NDCC § 44-04-19.1(9) for Attorney Client Consultation regarding SWPP – Intake, Contract 1-2A

It was the recommendation of Lt. Governor Strinden that further discussion relating to the SWPP/Fowler Intake be held in Executive Session, under the provisions of NDCC § 44-04-19.1(9), for the purpose of attorney consultation. The Commission invited the following to participate in the Executive Session:

State Water Commission Members Present:

Lt. Governor Strinden, Acting Chairman

Doug Goehring, Commissioner, ND Agriculture Commissioner

Michael Anderson, Lower Red River Basin (online)

Jeff Frith, Devils Lake Basin (online)

James Odermann, Little Missouri, Upper Heart, and Upper Cannonball River Basins Connie Ova, James River Basin (online)

Jay Volk, Lower Missouri River Basin April Walker, Upper Red River Basin (online) Jason Zimmerman. Mouse River Basin

Others Present:

Reice Haase, DWR Director and Commission Secretary
John Paczkowski, DWR State Engineer
Matthew Sagsveen, General Counsel, Attorney General's Office (online)
Elizabeth Mayans, Attorney General's Office
Justin Froseth, Southwest Pipeline Project Manager
Shana Brost, Administrative Officer
Chris Kadrmas, DWR Administration Division Director
Abby Ebach, DWR Policy Advisor
Aaron Weber, Policy Advisor, Governor's Office (online)
Reed Johnson, Governor's Office
Elise Radaj, Fabyanske, Westra, Hart & Thomson, P.A. (online)
Mark Becker, Fabyanske, Westra, Hart & Thomson, P.A. (online)

Moved by Commissioner Goehring and seconded by Commissioner Volk that under the provision of NDCC § 44-04-19.1(9), the Commission proceed into Executive Session on May 28, 2025, at 10:06 AM for the purpose of attorney consultation relating to the Southwest Pipeline Project/Fowler Intake—Contract 1-2A.

Commissioners Anderson, Frith, Odermann, Ova, Volk, Walker, Zimmerman, Goehring, and Lt. Governor Strinden voted aye. There were no nay votes. The motion carried.

Following attorney consultation regarding the Southwest Pipeline Project/Fowler Intake, Contract 1-2A, Lt. Governor Strinden reconvened the open session of the Commission meeting at 10:35 AM.

Moved by Commissioner Goehring and seconded by Commissioner Zimmerman to direct DWR staff to finalize the SWPP Intake settlement agreement.

Commissioners Anderson, Frith, Odermann, Ova, Volk, Walker, Zimmerman, Goehring, and Lt. Governor Strinden voted aye. There were no nay votes. The motion carried.

There being no further business to come before the Commission, Lt. Governor Strinden adjourned the May 28, 2025, special meeting at 10:37 AM. The next State Water Commission meeting will be held on June 12, 2025, at 1:00 PM CT at the Bank of North Dakota, Lewis & Clark Room #238, 1200 Memorial Highway, Bismarck, North Dakota.

Michelle Strinden, Lieutenant Governor Acting Chairman, State Water Commission

Reice Haase, Director, DWR

Secretary to the State Water Commission