

NEWS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 14, 2021

## Statewide Water Projects Approved at Water Commission Meeting

The North Dakota State Water Commission today approved \$65.2 million in cost-share requests for several municipal, regional, and rural water supply projects, as well as projects related to flood control, and general water projects from across the state.

The Water Commission supports local sponsors in development of sustainable water-related projects in North Dakota through the Department of Water Resources (DWR) Cost-Share Program. The primary purpose of the DWR Cost-Share Program is to assist local project sponsors with financial support of water development projects – making them more affordable to local constituents.

"The State Water Commission's significant investment in these projects will help provide a reliable water supply for tens of thousands of North Dakotans as well as flood protection and other critical water infrastructure to support communities and economic growth across our state," Gov. Doug Burgum said.

The largest cost-share approved today is \$47.5 million for the Red River Valley Water Supply Project (RRVWSP). The project is managed by the Garrison Diversion Conservancy District and is owned by Lake Agassiz Water Authority. Since the state and local project was initiated in 2013, the state has invested over \$117 million toward the advancement of the RRVWSP. Once completed, 35 communities and rural water systems in central and eastern North Dakota will potentially benefit from the project.

"Today's funding approvals further advocate the importance of crucial water projects, building smart and efficient infrastructure, and creating resilient communities in North Dakota. The efforts and collaboration of the State Water Commission along with the Department of Water Resources with project sponsors across the state continue to lead to successful projects that are realized and completed due to the cost shares provided," said DWR Director Andrea Travnicek.

The 10-member Water Commission consists of Burgum as chairman, Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring, and eight members appointed by the governor to serve

six-year terms. Lt. Gov. Brent Sanford chaired today's meeting. For additional information, please visit the Department of Water Resources' website at <a href="https://www.dwr.nd.gov">www.dwr.nd.gov</a>.

For More Information Contact:

Jessie Wald at <a href="mailto:jessiewald@nd.gov">jessie Wald at <a href="mailto:jessiewald@nd.gov">jessie Wald at <a href="mailto:jessiewald@nd.gov">jessiewald@nd.gov</a> 701.328.2782

Doug Burgum, *Governor*Andrea Travnicek, Ph.D., Water Resources Director

900 East Boulevard Ave Bismarck, ND 58505

PHONE: (701) 328-2750 | FAX: (701) 328-3696 | E-MAIL: dwr@nd.gov

www.dwr.nd.gov

###